top of page

An Adapted National Curriculum — Emphasising Life Needs

Our Adventurers' Curriculum is subtitled ‘An Adapted National Curriculum, which emphasises life needs’. This is because it adapts the UK National Curriculum (levels 1 – 3)

Within our Adventurers' Curriculum, certain foundation subjects from the UK National Curriculum play a slightly different role than they would in many mainstream school contexts. All the subject areas were established with the functional aspect in mind, preparing our pupils, as much as possible, for adult life. Subject areas were redefined so they are more meaningful for children and young people, for example instead of English they learn about Language and Communication. 


The Adventurers' Curriculum has seven curriculum areas, which are based on the National Curriculum with a focus on the function and accessibility:

  • Language and Communication 

  • Maths and Finance

  • Understanding of the World

  • Life Skills

  • Personal and Social Development

  • Creative Development 

  • Physical Development and healthy Lifestyles 

Within the Adventurers' Curriculum, the following are not curriculum areas in their own right, but are taught and assessed across the curriculum:

  • Historical, geographical and social understanding

  • Information Technology (IT)

  • Social, Moral, Spiritual, Cultural Aspects of Learning (SMSC)

  • Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning (SEAL)


bottom of page